Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations

Support Groups

Phone number+603 7876 2009
Fax number+603 7877 1076

In Malaysia, consumer associations at state levels have to be established before they form the federation. The first four states consumers associations which carries out their respective consumer related activities are:

  • Januari 1965 – Selangor Consumer Association (SCA)
  • November 1969 – Consumer Association of Penang (CAP)
  • Februari 1971 – Consumer Association of Sarawak (CAS)
  • Mac 1971 – Consumer Association of Negeri Sembilan (CANS)

In April 1971, a meeting held in Cameron Highlands to discuss a need to have a federation. CAP was given the honour to hold a second meeting in Pulau Pinang on Jun 1971 for final discussion on formation of a federation but it has been a failure.

Later, three more consumer association has been formed, as follows:

  • Julai 1971 Consumer Association of Kedah (CAKE)
  • Mac 1972 Perak Consumers Association (PCA)
  • May 1972 Consumer Associations of Malacca (CAM)

Another discussion took place also to discuss about formation of a federation. Every party has agreed to form a flexible federal without the consumer associations loosing their autonomy power. Finally, Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations or its acronym, (FOMCA) which was founded on 10th June 1973 in Alor Setar, Kedah.After FOMCA established, state consumer organization which has been formed are:

  • Julai 1973 – Johore Consumers Associations (JCA)
  • Ogos 1973 – Kelantan Consumers Associations (JCA)
  • Nov 1973 – Pahang Consumers Associations (PAC)
  • Jun 1976 – Terengganu Consumers Associations (PTR)
  • Ogos 1980 – Consumer Association of Sabah and Labuan (CASH)

FOMCA also play an active role at international level. Since 1987, FOMCA has been elected thrice to sit on Board of Directors of Consumer International (CI), which represents 225 consumer organizations in 119 countries. FOMCA current term expires in November 2003. Till today, around six of them hold FOMCA’ s presidents position:

  • 1973 – 1974 Allahyarham Dato’ Mohamed Sopiee Sheikh Ibrahm
  • 1974 – 1981 Mr Tara Singh Gill
  • 1981 – 1988 Mr Bishan Singh Bahadur
  • 1988 – 1991 Mr Chua Kim Tee
  • 1991 – 2004 Prof. Dato’ Mohd Hamdan Hj. Adnan
  • 2004 – Until Now Datuk Marimuthu Nadason

Do you know of an update to this profile? Let us know by clicking here!

Leave a Comment