In Malaysia, consumer associations at state levels have to be established before they form the federation. The first four states consumers associations which carries out their respective consumer related activities are:

  • January 1965 – Selangor Consumer Association (SCA)
  • November 1969 – Consumer Association of Penang (CAP)
  • February 1971 – Consumer Association of Sarawak (CAS)
  • Mac 1971 – Consumer Association of Negeri Sembilan (CANS)

In April 1971, a meeting held in Cameron Highlands to discuss a need to have a federation. CAP was given the honour to hold a second meeting in Pulau Pinang on June 1971 for final discussion on formation of a federation but it has been a failure.

Later, three more consumer association has been formed, as follows:

  • July 1971 Consumer Association of Kedah (CAKE)
  • Mac 1972 Perak Consumers Association (PCA)
  • May 1972 Consumer Associations of Malacca (CAM)

Another discussion took place also to discuss about formation of a federation. Every party has agreed to form a flexible federal without the consumer associations loosing their autonomy power. Finally, Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations or its acronym, (FOMCA) which was founded on 10th June 1973 in Alor Setar, Kedah. After FOMCA established, state consumer organization which has been formed are:

  • July 1973 – Johore Consumers Associations (JCA)
  • August 1973 – Kelantan Consumers Associations (JCA)
  • Nov 1973 – Pahang Consumers Associations (PAC)
  • Jun 1976 – Terengganu Consumers Associations (PTR)
  • August 1980 – Consumer Association of Sabah and Labuan (CASH)

FOMCA also plays an active role at international level. Since 1987, FOMCA has been elected thrice to sit on Board of Directors of Consumer International (CI), which represents 225 consumer organizations in 119 countries. FOMCA current term expires in November 2003. Till today, around six of them hold FOMCA’ s presidents position:

  • 1973 – 1974 Allahyarham Dato’ Mohamed Sopiee Sheikh Ibrahm
  • 1974 – 1981 Mr Tara Singh Gill
  • 1981 – 1988 Mr Bishan Singh Bahadur
  • 1988 – 1991 Mr Chua Kim Tee
  • 1991 – 2004 Prof. Dato’ Mohd Hamdan Hj. Adnan
  • 2004 – Present Datuk Marimuthu Nadason

Di Malaysia, persatuan pengguna telah ditubuhkan di peringkat negeri dahulu sebelum bergabung di bawah sebuah pertubuhan di peringkat nasional. Empat persatuan pengguna yang mula-mula sekali ditubuhkan ialah:

  1. Januari 1965  –   Persatuan Pengguna Selangor (SCA)
  2. November 1969  –  Persatuan Pengguna Pulau Pinang (CAP)
  3. Februari 1971 –  Persatuan Pengguna Sarawak (CAS)
  4. Mac 1971 –  Persatuan Pengguna Negeri Sembilan (CANS) 

Pada bulan April 1971, satu mesyuarat telah diadakan di Cameron Highland untuk membincangkan penubuhan sebuah persatuan gabungan. CAP telah diberi tugas untuk mengadakan mesyuarat kedua di Pulau Pinang pada bulan Jun 1971 untuk membuat perancangan akhir penubuhan, tetapi gagal.

Kemudian tiga lagi persatuan pengguna negeri telah ditubuhkan, iaitu:

  1. Julai 1971  –  Persatuan Pengguna Kedah (CAKE)
  2. Mac 1972 –  Persatuan Pengguna Perak (PCA)
  3. May 1972 –  Persatuan Pengguna Melaka (CAM)

Kemudian satu lagi perbincangan dibuat untuk menubuhkan sebuah gabungan. Semua pihak bersetuju untuk membentuk sebuah persekutuan yang longgar tanpa menghilangkan kuasa autonomi persatuan-persatuan pengguna negeri. Akhirnya lahirlah Gabungan Persatuan-Persatuan Pengguna Malaysia (atau singkatannya FOMCA) pada 10 Jun 1973 di Alor Setar, Kedah.

Selepas penubuhan FOMCA, persatuan-persatuan pengguna negeri lain yang ditubuhkan ialah:

  1. Julai 1973  –   Persatuan Pengguna Johor (JCA)
  2. Ogos 1973 –   Persatuan Pengguna Johor (JCA)
  3. November 1973 –   Persatuan Pengguna Pahang (PAC)
  4. Jun 1976  –  Persatuan Pengguna Terengganu (2PTR)
  5. Ogos 1980  –   Persatuan Pengguna Sabah dan Labuan (CASH) 

Dalam pada itu, FOMCA turut memainkan peranan aktif di peringkat antarabangsa. Semenjak tahun 1987, FOMCA telah dilantik sebanyak tiga kali menduduki Lembaga Pengarah Consumers International (CI), iaitu sebuah pertubuhan pengguna antarabangsa yang menggabungkan 225 buah pertubuhan pengguna dari 119 buah negara. Pada masa ini FOMCA menganggotai Lembaga Pengarah CI untuk tempoh sehingga tahun 2003.

Sehingga kini, seramai enam orang menjadi Presiden FOMCA, iaitu:

  1. 1973 – 1974 – Allahyarham Dato’ Mohamed Sopiee Sheikh Ibrahim
  2. 1974 – 1981 – Encik Tara Singh Gill
  3. 1981 – 1988 – Mendiang Encik Bishan Singh Bahadur
  4. 1988 – 1991 –  Encik Chua Kim Tee
  5. 1991 – 2004 –  Prof. Dato’ Mohd Hamdan Hj. Adnan
  6. 2004 – Kini –  Prof. Datuk Dr. Marimuthu Nadason

Learn More

Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations

[email protected]Email
+603 7876 2009Phone Number
+603 7877 1076Fax Number
Established since 1973Year of Establishment
PPM-001-10-28121973Registration Number
No 24, Jalan SS1/22A Petaling Jaya Selangor 47300Address
Visit Us

Every donation goes to Touching Hearts Welfare Society, Kuala Lumpur and Selangor and is exempted from tax under sub-section 44(6) of Income Tax Act 1967. does NOT collect donations on behalf of other NGOs. UPDATE: Our Tax Exempt status is pending renewal. Expected date after 24 August 2024. With that, all donations received from April 2024 onwards will be issued with our new tax-exempted receipts after 24 August 2024. Kindly email [email protected] after your transaction is successfully completed to receive a receipt. The receipt will feature the following fields:
I have read the privacy policy and refund policy statements. UPDATE: Our Tax Exempt status is pending renewal. Expected date after 24 August 2024. With that, all donations received from April 2024 onwards will be issued with our new tax-exempted receipts after 24 August 2024.